Skip to content

Goals for 2010

January 8, 2010

Listening: Baroque music on Itunes Radio. (I don’t use Itunes for anything else, but I’m so thankful for its radio stations!)

Feeling:

Excited...SNOW!!!

Excited-SNOW!

~*~

Okay, so I started out writing my thoughts last night but had to save draft because it was time for bed… today it’s snowing!! So that had to come first. Now I am free to continue with my train of thought.

~*~

One of the main things for me this year is learning. I will be graduating highschool (from home) and starting college in the Fall. I want to take responsibility for my education and make learning Active instead of Passive. This includes not only learning in an academic sense, but in the rest of my life as well. I need to be actively learning more about the Lord, my faith, hobbies, world events, cooking, etc.

So, in a list, my goals are as follows:

  1. Read. And not just any books, but good books; books on cooking, crocheting, herbs, art, home, God, stories; classics, biographies, histories, how-to’s. Books that stretch my thinking and teach me more about myself and the world God created. Books that teach me different skills. Books that are beautiful inspirations and develop character. So, a book-list for 2010 is forthcoming… any suggestions?
  2. Learn to Cook (and like it). I admit… while I love the idea of liking to cook, and I love watching the occasional show on Food Network, I do not, in fact, harbor a deep love for cooking itself. But I know it’s a skill I need to be proficient in, so it’s my goal this year to learn all I can from my mom and develop a love for it. I may even show you glimpses of my journey every now and then! (P.S. One of my inspirations is putting on the soundtrack from Ratatouille… that does help me get into the mood! πŸ™‚ )
  3. Crochet. My grandmother taught me how to crochet a couple years ago, but I never really kept at until this past year, when she started me on a new project (even though I had another one unfinished), which ended up being my mom’s Christmas present! I loved the feeling of having a completed project, so I am now inspired to continue crocheting, and learn how to crochet many different things. (Expect more on this throughout the year.)
  4. Herb-gardening. I really don’t know how I got into herbs, but for some reason I’ve really developed a desire to study the herbs God has made, and the many different uses they have. I’m going to try to start a little ‘herb journal ‘ of sorts, and will hopefully make my very first herb garden in the Spring!
  5. Getting Organized (and Staying that way!) Ah yes, the bane of an artist’s existence… this may be why so many of my started projects never ended up finished – they all got pushed to the wayside and forgotten beneath a giant mess. I have been the epitome of pack-rat, and now is the time to get rid of that mind-set. Any organizational tips? I’ll be sure to share any I find with you. πŸ™‚
  6. Experiment with Art-Endeavours. I have dearly missed being creative, whether it be crocheting, playing music, drawing, painting, or making computer graphics… I miss making things beautiful. I miss learning new artistic skills. So this year I’m going to try to exercise them and come up with different craft-project ideas. (My first will be covering a sketchbook… I hope to do that tomorrow and share it with you!)
  7. Become a better Writer. I must admit, I have been very lax in practicing writing and spelling skills. I got to a point where I hardly ever made mistakes in spelling or writing papers, and became complacent, leading me to lose the ability almost entirely! So, hopefully this blog will end up being a Chronicle of my writing-progress. Also, I hope to have the writer’s society up very soon!
  8. Grow closer to my Saviour, and truly make Him my All. He brought me through so much last year. Like my great-aunt said, “Seek the Giver, not the gift.” This is what I aim to do this year.
  9. Read the Bible through in a year. I have never read the Bible all the way through before, and so am doing thus this year.
  10. Become a better Sister, Daughter, and Friend. To truly care about others and do thoughtful things for them. To have a True Servant’s Heart and try always to bless others, thinking of them before myself.

So, those are a few things I’m working on this next year! What about you? What are some of your goals?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 6:48 pm

    I love your goals for this coming year, and we share a few. Mine are: grow closer to God, overcome my insecurities and fears (or rather give them over to God and let Him take over), read more, learn how to cook and do other household duties (wash clothes maybe? Good grief, I’m 18 years old and rather ashamed to admit that I can’t wash clothes unless Mom tells me what to do), make a simple quilt for my bed, sew a dress that fits me properly, get that college public speaking class over with, and finish “editing” my NaNoWriMo novel.

    As for reading suggestions, I actually just did a blog post about books (the best ones I read in 2009), and I hope to blog more about books this year. And reading the Bible through in a year is a commitment, but it’s really not as incredibly daunting as it seems at first. I’ve read through the Bible each year for the past three or four years with Brio, and this year I’m doing it with Susie magazine. Anyway, thanks for the inspiring goals!

    ~Kristin

    • January 13, 2010 11:01 am

      I so understand the insecurities and fears thing! I used to get so discouraged because it seemed like it was going to be a never-ending problem; every time I gave them to God, it was like a few hours or days later, I ended up taking them back. But last year, my best friend told me: “Just remember that we’re human. We have control-issues. So every time you realize that you’ve ‘taken’ these things back, just give it to God. Again and again and again. Just keep giving them back to Him.”
      That helped me so much.

      Sorry, that was kind of a bunny trail… :-/ Anyway, those are great goals! I would LOVE to learn how to sew, but our sewing machine isn’t working… we’re not quite sure what’s wrong with it.
      Yeah, public-speaking isn’t my strong suite either… (something I should definitely work on if I’m going to be an English teacher!)
      Hey, if you need any test-readers, I most definitely volunteer! πŸ˜‰ I’m a major bookworm, so I’m always on the lookout for new stories.

      Aww, I used to get Brio too, right up till it closed (I was so sad.) I haven’t gotten the Susie one yet though… do you like it?
      Yeah, I’m discovering that as I go along… at first I was like, I hope I have time to read the passages each day! But now it’s not too bad, even when I have to catch up on a day.

      I’ll be sure to check out your books post!
      Thanks so much for commenting. πŸ™‚
      ~Kimmy

      • January 15, 2010 12:33 pm

        That’s what I find myself doing, too. I give something to God, and then I try to take it right back. It’s like a constant process.
        Yes, I like Susie magazine. At first I wasn’t too impressed. But then she doubled the size from about 40 to about 80 pages (and without too many ads), and that helped things. Still, I often feel like it’s mostly much younger girls who are reading it and who it is written for. I’m almost 19, so I had been getting Brio&Beyond, and I wish they had a version of Susie for older girls. Anyway, I do really enjoy the magazine (especially when they have articles about Switchfoot, Brandon Heath, etc). Plus, the “online sisterhood” is kind of cool, even though I don’t get on it very often. And Susie is about the only thing to fill that Brio void! I think they’re selling it at major bookstores now, so maybe you could check out a copy to help you decide whether you want to subscribe or not. =)
        ~Kristin

  2. Krys permalink
    January 8, 2010 11:39 pm

    I shall definitely be praying for you as you seek to accomplish these goals! πŸ™‚ And as you graduate from home-high school and go to college- I graduate this year as well (I’ve been also homeschooled from Grade 1+ the entire way) and while I’m at least not planning on going to a conventional college there are some things that hopefully will come to pass as to higher education, but we’ll see. πŸ™‚

    Hmm…as for books to read, have you tried out any of Oswald Chambers’ work? I read a biography on him this past year and am also reading some of his sermons-published-in-book-form and am greatly enjoying them. πŸ™‚ He has some profound thoughts that sometimes take a little bit of time and one or two re-read throughs to really get what he’s saying, but I like it all the better for it. While easy to understand books on the first reading are great as well, it’s nice to have some more stretching reading material that requires some thinking. πŸ™‚

    Goals for this year for me- well I guess the main ones are to really just become a more devoted child of the King, a better saver of money and more responsible young person, someone who is more patient with my younger brothers and other children and who is really willing to give of the time God has given me to use to help others. πŸ™‚

    • January 13, 2010 11:09 am

      Thank you, Dear! Aww, how wonderful! Do you graduate in May? (I’m asking because I know that in countries south of the USA, their school year runs from February or March to December instead of August to May, so I’m not sure what it’s like in Canada.) If so, we’ll graduate together! πŸ˜€

      No, I haven’t read any of his books, but I’ve always heard of him, and I’ve heard a few of his quotes here and there. I’ll be sure to check them out; right now, I NEED books that stretch my thinking! πŸ™‚

      Those are wonderful goals.
      ~Kimmy

      • Krys permalink
        January 13, 2010 9:07 pm

        Hmm, I think I graduate in May, either that or June. But since I’m *probably* not having a big graduation or anything (but don’t feel bad for me, I really don’t mind a bit!) I can say it’s May so we can do it together! πŸ˜€ For regular schools it’s June, I think. πŸ™‚

        Hurray! πŸ™‚ Please do let me know what you think- so far what I’ve read of his writing has been really good! πŸ™‚

  3. January 9, 2010 11:27 pm

    Hi! I actually found your blog because my sister was checking her blog stats, followed a link to here, and discovered that you link to both of us! What a pleasant surprise! πŸ™‚

    Those are lovely and admirable goals for your year, and you have really inspired me to…to…well, to do something. I’m not really sure what yet.

    Several things on your list caught my eye, though, and those are writing, reading, and crochet, all things which I love to do! Of course, you might already know that if you have previous read my blog. πŸ˜‰

    As to suggestion for reading, have you ever read His Chosen Bride, by Jennifer Lamp? That book is simply amazing and I would recommend it over and over again.

    It was nice to “meet” you!
    Eyebright

    • January 13, 2010 11:18 am

      You know, I didn’t realize before that you were sisters… I’m don’t know how I missed that!

      Aww, thank you! haha πŸ™‚

      Yes, and I must say, you have some beautiful crocheted works! I LOVE the tea scarf, and am hoping to start on that soon myself! πŸ™‚

      No, I haven’t. Thanks so much for the recommendation, I’ll be sure to check it out!
      Nice to ‘meet’ you as well! πŸ™‚
      ~Kimmy

  4. January 18, 2010 8:02 pm

    Hello, I am thrilled to have stumbled upon your lovely blog!!! Yay! Another homeschool graduate! My husband and I are both graduates! Although Im a newbie to your blog I would LOVE to suggest a book for you! The Knowledge of The Holy by AW Tozer! I also adore many of the puritan paperbacks, the travel in a purse really well and are full of so many wonderful nuggets of truth! I cant wait to browse your blog more!

  5. January 23, 2010 3:30 am

    I really like “seek the giver not the gift” I think those are great words to live by. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

