Skip to content

Goodbye, 2009.

December 31, 2009

It’s been a long journey this year. But it has passed by in the (almost literally) blink of an eye. It’s quite hard to believe that we are really, truly looking at the dawn of 2010… not only the beginning of a new year, but the beginning of a new decade. And for me, and my family, the beginning of a new chapter of life.

2009 was like most years: full of pain, laughter, trials, joys, many thousands of different proofs of God’s love and provision for us. But it had many defining aspects.  I think one of the most important lessons I have learned is not only knowing how to learn, but having the desire to learn. I have learned to overcome the sick-cycle-carousel of Laziness and Procrastination. I have learned to become open (again) to Hard Work and Self-Sacrifice. I’ve learned the importance of friendship and How to Be a Friend.

I have learned that God needs to Be My All. One of my goals this year (well, truly my most important goal) is to truly draw close to my Saviour. To put Him first, not only at the beginning of the day, but All Day Long. I am asking Him to teach me how to make Him first, how to spend time with Him, how to study His Word. I am going to read through my Bible (for the first time) this year.

I am so thankful for what He has taught me about Himself this year. He has been such a beautiful Comforter and Provider for us. At the end of last year, I felt like life could never be good again. Laughter and smiles seemed to be possible nevermore. My world, my family, was torn to pieces, and pain was my constant companion. We couldn’t see how God would provide through the next year, the wonderful things, the amazing people He would bring across our path. He taught me that time is one of His most useful tools in ‘binding up the wounds of the broken-hearted’, and He proved to me how close He could really be.

He provided a home for us, and brought us back to family and to new friends. He has opened up new opportunities and provided the best of jobs for my mom and me. He has blessed my family beyond belief, holding us in the Palm of His Hand through the darkest of times. He has brought us out of the dark valley, and given us hope to light our Tomorrows. He is my Father, and our family’s Covering.

This is a song that meant a lot to my family and I this last year. It is so precious in its Simple Truth.

I pray you all have a blessed new year, you and yours!

Goodbye, dear 2009. You will always live in my memory as the bitter-turned-sweet year I finally learned to grow up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Krys permalink
    January 1, 2010 12:04 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart, Riley! 2009 for me has been one of those hard years, and yet toward the end good too. I had so much growing up to do and learning to do…learning really more about God in so many ways… so while I am glad to leave 2009 behind and put some years in between me and my past mistakes…it is hard leaving it behind too. It’s the Unknown we’re facing that is probably one of the biggest things to cause fear…2009 was the familiar, 2010 is the new, yet uncharted and explored… I know God will be with us but sometimes that doesn’t seem to help all that much….

    Praying for you in this upcoming year! Thank you for being such a special part of my 2009- I remember when you first commented on my blog way back in the spring. It was so helpful to know that you were going through many of the same issues as I at that time, I’m glad we were able to reconnect a few months later. 🙂 You have helped me and blessed me so much this year! Thank you! 🙂 I’m really glad to have “met” you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

