Skip to content

Why I Won NaNoWriMo… But Didn’t.

December 12, 2009
tags:

So, I know this is way after NaNo ended, but hey, better late than never, right?

First off, I will say this: I did not technically win NaNo. I wrote about 7k+ words, but didn’t make it beyond because real-life stepped in and took over. :-/

HOWEVER. It was a great experience while it lasted, and I will most definitely be doing it again next year (though hopefully I will actually win it next year!) Also, I did not ‘lose’ empty-handed.

Though I didn’t make it to 50,000 words, NaNo helped teach me some other very important skills that I’m very thankful for. Mainly, it (and serious prayer) helped me get out of the cycle of laziness and procrastination that I’d fallen into. It helped give me a ‘kickstart’ to actually DO things, instead of thinking and writing about them. And, it also gave me several great tips from other writers for future reference as well as the knowledge that, if nothing else, I’ve written 7k+ words of a story! πŸ™‚

So, I won some things that were, for me, even more important than a winner’s badge.

(Besides, this year was just a taste; next year will be the real thing! πŸ˜‰ )

And for any other writers out there, we are actively working on getting the ‘Writers’ Society‘ up and running! If you have any ideas or would like to be part of it in any way, please let me know!

~Tea

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 5:30 am

    Aha, another NaNoer. Good for you—you’re right, those things really are more important than just reaching 50K. The shininess of the winner’s badge wears off after about ten seconds anyway. πŸ˜›

    And your Writing Society looks most interesting!

    (I’ve been lurking here for a while [I think I found your blog through Narniaweb—I’m Alyosha there, by the way] and thought I had better comment so as not to remain a stalker any longer. πŸ˜› Hi!)

    • January 7, 2010 12:40 am

      lol I’ll take your word for it! πŸ˜‰

      You are very welcome to be part of it once it’s up and running! Things got slow in the starting of it because of the holiday festivities, but now that they’re over, it should be up pretty soon.

      Ah yes, I recognize the name! πŸ™‚ Well, hello and it’s so nice to meet you! Thank you so much for stopping by, Kelsey; I’m so sorry it’s taken me a month to reply… :-/ Somehow your comment got lost in the recesses of the front page, so I forgot about it! :-/

Leave a Reply

