Skip to content

The Sun’s Come Out…

November 28, 2009

Thanksgiving was absolutely lovely. I hope you all enjoyed yours! 🙂

Sadly, though, when we returned, we found our poor little betta fish, Leo, had jumped out of his bowl and was on a cookie rack that was drying on the counter. We don’t know how long he was there, but even after we put him back in his water, it was too late. He died during the night. 😥 I know it might sound silly, saying that I cried over a fish, but it’s true. We had become very attached to him. 😦

On to happier things.

Last night my family and I went shopping for Christmas things! (Lights, stockings, etc.) And after a trip to Walmart and Target, came home with:

5 loverly stockings (yes, we even got one for the dog! I had to roll my eyes, but have laughed and gone along with it)

This one's mine... isn't it so cute??

lots of beautiful lights

and even 2 celtic christmas cds and

a nightlight! (Yes, even at almost 18 years old, I need a nightlight. That might be a post for another time.)

I loved the whole Classic Winnie-the-Pooh thing. Too cute! 🙂

~*~

The night before last, we watched ‘The Shop Around The Corner’.

At first I was rather skeptical, but I recanted. I love it! It’s rather witty and amusing, though tinged by sadness. It’s a perfect example of human nature at its best (or worst.) I definitely recommend it.

~*~

Oh, before I forget! There are two giveaways you should go see:

1) Natalie Lloyd is giving away a copy of her book, Paperdoll – go to her blog and leave a comment saying your favorite part of thanksgiving. The ‘drawing’ will take place next Thursday, the 3rd.

2) Maggie is giving away an absolutely ADORABLE bag! Go here to find out more; the contest ends December 31st.

~*~

So what are you doing to prepare for Christmas? Got any decorations up yet? Planning a party? Trying to figure out what gifts to get (or make)? If the latter, you might want to check out Emily Rose‘s A Homemade Christmas! Click on the button in the sidebar -> for more info.

~Tea

P.S. So far I’ve only had 1 response for the writing group idea… I’d love to hear from any more of you! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Krys permalink
    November 28, 2009 10:30 pm

    Aww! I am sorry about your fish! 😦 It’s always hard when a pet dies…even if it is “just” a fish!

  2. November 28, 2009 11:38 pm

    Awww… so sorry to hear about Leo! I have a betta as well and I would be sooo sad if he jumped out! Bettas are jumpers, so if you keep them in a bowl, the easiest thing to do is put a lace cloth or a piece of netting over the top, and tie it in place with a pretty ribbon.

    And I looooove Shop Around The Corner… it was the movie that “You’ve Got Mail” was based on, but I like the original much better.

    • November 30, 2009 10:29 pm

      Thank you, Moxie. The little bowl we got for him came with a plastic lid, so we had that on when we first got him; but we think it was trapping the toxic gases, not letting enough fresh air in, so it was making him sick. We took it off, and he got better, but then the jumping-out happened. That’s a great idea! I hadn’t thought of that before; thank you!

      I’ve heard that it was, but I’ve never seen “You’ve Got Mail”, so I couldn’t be sure. It’s funny, many times when a story is remade, we find that we like the original better! 🙂
      Thanks for visiting!
      ~Tea

  3. November 30, 2009 10:44 pm

    Thank you so much for commenting on my blog! Every ounce of encouragement is GREATLY appreciated 🙂
    ~Emily

Leave a Reply

