Skip to content

The Eagle and Child

November 20, 2009

So… I have something I want to ask you. Yes, YOU. A proposition, if you will.

I’ve had an ‘inkling’ (pun intended 😉 ) that I’ve been thinking about for a few weeks, and now the time has come to try to put it into action.

I want to start a sort of Writer’s Society (or Club or Gathering or whatever you like) for all of us writers. A Fellowship, if you will.

A place where we can discuss, share, encourage, help, and read. A place where we writers can go (through the whole year, not just during NaNo) and have fun contests and challenges, and share our work with those who know and understand completely the trial of producing readable work (much less completing it!)

Because, if we’re honest, not many people in real life understand why we like writing. Not many can give us advice won from personal experience and know what it’s like to write something that’s so horrible it makes you want to cry. Only a few know that desire to produce a work of art, full of beauty and truth. Even fewer understand that longing to create a STORY, one that more people than just yourself would want to read.

(And sometimes, we just need someone else who understands to spur us on, which is one of the great things during NaNo)

So.

Obviously, with NaNo going on, the actual beginning of said Fellowship can wait till December.

BUT… right now, I’d love to hear your thoughts, questions, suggestions…

Because it can’t be just me. It has to be a group of us that want to do this.

It would be pointless to have a group of 1.

So what do you think? Would you like to help me create something like that? If I get the interest of at least 3 more people, I’ll make a nifty button specially for it and we’ll get the word spread. 🙂

And yes, if you were wondering, I would very much like to pattern it off of The Inklings. Perhaps even using the name (as it’s already recognized, but that’s something we can decide later on.)

And before I go, you can go here to read an essay on Who and What the Inklings were (just a note, it’s a PDF file), and here you can see a short page that has 4 great quotes on it from some of the Inkling members.

I can’t wait to hear from you, lovelies!

Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 10:32 pm

    That sounds like a pretty good idea! Yes, I would love to be part of that.
    I really like being part of the Narnia Writer’s Guild, but something smaller would be great to have as well.

  2. November 24, 2009 9:52 am

    I gave you an award on my blog!

  3. Krys permalink
    November 28, 2009 10:37 pm

    Lovely idea! 🙂 Alas that I am not more of a writer. 😉 But I ran a writing group once, about a year ago, if, er, I can be of any help in any way. 🙂 What do you think of setting up a free forum? They are quite easy to get and really nice places to have discussions and share and whatnot. 🙂 You can get some really nice free ones as well.

    Anywho. 🙂

    Krys

    • November 30, 2009 10:39 pm

      That sounds awesome, Krys! (Oh, and for someone who’s not much of a writer, you sure did awesome with writing 20k in the first 3 days of NaNo 😉 )

      • Krys permalink
        December 1, 2009 2:50 pm

        Aw, thanks! 😉 Don’t mention it. 😉

        Great! 😀 What about using Zetaboards for the forums? They are quite free and very very lovely. (I’ve used them before, and quite liked them).

        http://s1.zetaboards.com/zb/index/
        (The link to the Zetaboards site)

        If you want me to PM you on NarniaWeb some of what I’ve found out about running a writing place (well, it was more for roleplay, but it was kind of the same thing), and What Not To Do and such I can. But if not- no worries! 🙂

        The Writing Society is neat…hmm…maybe The League of Scribes?

  4. November 30, 2009 10:39 pm

    So, with me, Krys, and Hannah, I think that can count as the 3 starting people. 😉

    Do you guys have any suggestions in particular for a name?

  5. December 1, 2009 11:11 am

    Um *thinking* I like the name of your tag: The Writing Society.

  6. December 1, 2009 6:46 pm

    Or The Society of Scribblers…or maybe not!

  7. December 4, 2009 11:11 pm

    Hello! I stumbled across your blog from Simply Vintagegirl’s site. I saw this post and it immediately perked my interest. I’m a writer as well, and while I don’t know if I could commit to helping manage this Writer’s Society, I’m interested in seeing what you’ll do with it. Whenever it’s up and running, please let me know!

    Anyway, I just wanted to say ‘hello’ and comment on what a lovely blog you have. 🙂

    • December 9, 2009 3:16 pm

      Hi Kylie! Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂 (I just visited your blog, and it is definitely going on my bloglist! I think I’ve found another ‘kindred spirit’ 🙂 )

      I totally understand, and will definitely let you know when it’s up!

      • December 11, 2009 8:17 pm

        Thanks so much! I will definitely add you to my blogroll as well, and I look forward to reading your future posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

