Skip to content

Oh, The Woes of Convalescency!

October 28, 2009
restPhoto by Tammy

“Rest when you’re weary. Refresh and renew yourself, your body, your mind, your spirit. Then get back to work.”

Alright, so it’s not all that bad; I just woke up this morning with what might have been the beginnings of a sinus infection, but thankfully, I’m not working today. So I’m  having as much vitamin C as possible, resting, and drinking plenty of water and peppermint tea. Oh, and tylenol and Robitussin. So, hopefully it’ll be gone in time for church tonight. 🙂 (By the way, does anyone know if convalescency is even a word? Because if it’s not, then I’m making it one.)

Just as a warning, this post may be an exceedingly long one…. just so you know.

I’ll start out with a meme from Natalie: (just a note, I added a question)

1. What’s the last TV show you saw?

The last episode of Christy.

2. What are you wearing at the moment?

My pajamas: blue plaid pj pants, grey and white long-sleeved shirt, and blue Eeyore fuzzy jacket.

3. Favorite Song of the Moment?

Does a CD count? Ocean Eyes from Owl City.  If you’ve never heard him before, GO LISTEN NOW!

4. What is your favorite scent?

At the moment, the smell of Chicken and Tomato soup that’s in the crockpot; full of yummy spices and herbs – oregano, rosemary, etc. Hmmm…

5. What’s your occupation? What do you do there?

I’m currently a student and employee of Chik-fil-a; I’m in my last semester of school (I’m homeschooling for this last year, so I’ll finish in December instead of May), and at Chik-fil-a, I work on headset (the one who takes your order in a drive-thru), at window (the one who says hi, takes your payment, and gives you your food when you drive up), front-counter (when you walk in and order), and dining room (the oh-so-wonderful job of cleaning floors, tables, bathrooms – yes, even the guys’ – takes care of trash, and gets you your refills. Don’t worry, I wash my hands before I do that… lol).

6. What do you drink the most?

Probably water… I don’t really drink soda anymore. Oh, I drink a LOT of tea. And home-made smoothies.

7. What is your favorite restaurant?

Chopsticks, a little Chinese place native to my town. Oh and El Charros for great (and cheap) mexican food.

8. What will you be doing after you finish this?

Take a shower, rest.

9. What did you want to be when you grew up?

You know, I’m still trying to answer that. When I was younger, I wanted to be everything from an actress to a teacher to a cafe owner to a lawyer to a Navy or Coast Guard Officer to a musician to a writer to a missionary to a photographer to a web-designer…. I’m still not sure. God hasn’t made it clear to me yet.

10. Your favorite romantic movie?

I’m a big fan of period-romance-dramas, so Sense and Sensibility and North and South are definitely the best.

11. What’s your least favorite thing about yourself?

My horrible habit of procrastination.

12. What are your ideal qualities in a novel?

Written beautifully, something unique that stands out; something that interweaves truth and dreams and reality and magic; whimsy, faith, and great characters who grow and learn along the way, who are not perfect. Something with funny moments, sad moments, perplexing moments of uncertainty, moments of heart-rending agony and equally heart-breaking moments of joy, with twists in the journey that you really didn’t expect, but that don’t drop you off a cliff. Something clean that doesn’t have to conform to the last best-seller in order to prove itself. Something that ends tugging on your heart, opens your eyes to something you might not have noticed before, whether it be happy or melancholy. Something where almost everyone, if not everyone, makes it to the end, hopefully changed for the better. Something that ties up all loose ends, except for those pieces that are bits of heaven and therefore beautifully unexplainable. And it’s okay.

13. What time do you usually go to bed?

I’m trying to get to bed by 10.

14. What is ones thing that made you laugh today?

mademelaugh

Click the thumbnail to make it bigger

15. What is one thing inspiring you today?

Owl City. Seriously…. well, this topic really deserves a post of its own. So, in the future (if my procrasinating self doesn’t take over) I’ll explain. 🙂

Well, as a final note, I finally finished the banner for the new design the other day! It took me a while simply because I couldn’t find inspiration for the effects… but the muse finally came back. So, it’s done and ready, but I wanted to wait before redesigning so I could let you know that it really is coming (and also because I’d rather do  ‘special’ things like that on a day with a wee bit more significance. :P) So it’s coming this next Sunday, November 1st.

I hope you have a great day, lovelies! I’m off now to rest and recuperate.

❤ RileyTea

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 5:40 pm

    I keep hearing about Owl City! The only song I’ve heard is Fireflies. It’s definitely pretty. Reminds me just a smidge of Death Cab For Cutie. All of these are great. Way to add a laugh! I didn’t even notice the meme was missing a number … 🙂 The little thumbnail I epic failed at making bigger was a rejection letter from the museum of modern art to Andy Warhol. I’ll try to link it on the next blog. These are great answers! Your blog is too cute.

Leave a Reply

