Skip to content

Sisters

October 24, 2009
faeryglenPhoto by lightsongs

My sister and I are having ‘Sister Time’ tonight; just me and her at home.

I’m trying to learn how to become friends, rather than just siblings.

It’s tough, because as much as I love her,

I don’t know how to start being friends. For so long,

I’ve been in the mindset of just ‘siblings’.

But I know a friendship has to be cultivated.

We have snacks ready, and coffee too.

The fireplace is ready to be lit,

and I’m going to read a story aloud

while she works on hobby-projects.

What do you do with your sister(s)? How did you become friends?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 11:34 pm

    I totally get where you’re coming from. My sister and I are eleven years apart (she’s older). When I was a kid, she was always gone, part of this amazing teenage universe I was desperate to be part of, but content to orbit. I wanted to be just like her. i would sneak into her room and wear her makeup. Try to smile like her in pictures. I knew almost nothing about her, just that she was cool. As I got older, I loved her to pieces but weirdly enough, I felt like I wasn’t cool enough to be her friend. In the past five years or so, we actually have become friends, and not just siblings. Our personalities are very different, so sometimes it’s a challenge. We cook together (she cooks … and she gives me very simple tasks I can’t mess up :). We go to movies together. We do things I do with my friends. I hope we keep getting closer as we get older. Having her as a sister has always been awesome, but having her as a friend is kind of new. And I really like it.

    • October 28, 2009 10:35 am

      That’s really neat, Natalie! I like hearing about what it’s like to be the younger sibling, because I’m the older sister in my family. And even though my sis and I are only 2 years apart, we’re also VERY different, which makes the time-gap seem much longer. Hearing what it’s like to be the younger sister helps me to remember how things look like from her vantage-point, and helps me to a) not be so bossy (it’s hard to remember that as I’ve grown up, she has too!) and b) not to push her away. We’re working on it. πŸ™‚ But I’ve heard from many women with sisters (including my mom and her 2) that it does get easier to be friends as you get older. So I have hope! πŸ™‚

      lol I bet there’s some funny stories resulting from that!

  2. October 25, 2009 6:50 pm

    I have an amazing brother, but no sisters.
    Sort of the same thing happened to my brother and I, though. First we were play-mates, then fellow students (we were homsechooled) and now we’re more of best friends.

    • October 28, 2009 10:40 am

      That’s awesome! I have both a brother and a sister, and for many years we were all home-schooled. Both relationships have their own unique set of challenges and rewards. πŸ™‚ By the way, I love your blog!

  3. October 28, 2009 11:17 am

    Thanks! I like yours, too. It’s very neat!

  4. heavensforgivenprincess permalink
    November 4, 2009 2:03 am

    Hi!
    This is Princess Anna from Nweb! I hope you don’t mind that I decided to pay you a visit.

    Anyway, as to sisters becoming friends…
    I suppose, just by spending time with them… getting to know them. It’s like any other friendship, really. *shrugs*

    My sister and I are pretty close in age as well. And were always friends and siblings all at once. She’s like a built in best friend. That’s not to say things are easy or perfect. Sometimes we have horrible fights. But we always know that we love each other, and that the other will always be there when in greatest need. I’m so lucky God gave me the sister He did. Sometimes I don’t understand how she puts up with me… and yet she does. Anyway, I understand. Best of luck to you and your sister on this journey to friendship!

    ~Andrea

Leave a Reply

